Three Times Lucky by Sheila Turnage

June 11, 2012 at 5:14 pm Leave a comment

Summary:
Washed ashore as a baby in tiny Tupelo Landing, North Carolina, Mo LoBeau, now eleven, and her best friend Dale turn detective when the amnesiac Colonel, owner of a café and co-parent of Mo with his cook, Miss Lana, seems implicated in a murder.

 

Reviews:
Ahh…finally an OPLbery book I can criticize! You want to get straight to the heart of the matter? Be my guest. Okay, here goes!
Three Times Lucky is a mystery set in North Carolina. It’s supposed to be modern, but it comes off 1960ish. Other reviewers sugarcoated its rare good points. I don’t sugarcoat. The characters are unrealistic, the “humor” is a joke (bad pun, sorry), the protagonist is sort of corny and my mind wandered when I was reading it. I think it would have been better if the author hadn’t written it. The mystery part is good but unfortunately, that’s like a third of the book!
Don’t read the unworthy-of-OPLbery title book! I don’t think it’ll win.
-Maggie

I thought this book was very exiting and fun! I loved that it was a mystery and it was a bit humorous. People will really love the characters and how smart and different they are. This is one of my favorites and I hope other people will love it too!
I would rate this book a 9 out of 10.
-Elena

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

The Amazing Adventures of John Smith, Jr. aka Houdini by Peter Johnson What we’ve been reading

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Ossining Public Library

914-941-2416
Mon & Thur: 9am-9pm
Tues & Fri: 10am-6pm
Wed: 1pm-9pm
Sat: 9am-5pm
Sun: 1pm-5pm (Sept-June)

Archives

OPLkids Twitter feed

Follow us on Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


